The Codex Amiatinus was made in the Northumbrian monasteries of Wearmouth (dedicated to St. Peter and founded in 674 by Benedict Biscop) and Jarrow (dedicated to St. Paul and founded in 681 by an Anglo-Saxon Ceolfrith). The Codex Amiatinus was made at the command of Ceolfrith. He intended to present the manuscript as a gift to the pope, but he died in France in 716 on the way to Rome. This gift was intended as a testament to the dedication of Wearmouth and Jarrow to the Church of Rome.
Early recorded History dates the first eyeglasses to approximately 1286 AD. The earliest known style of eyeglasses were Rivet glasses, made of wood, bone, horn or iron. The rivet allowed the frame to be clamped to the nose and folded for storage.